Panel discussion on Cable Fault Detection – Webinar

10 February 2021

Wednesday 10th February 2021, 3pm GMT.

Following significant interest in the webinar we ran last year on Cable Fault Detection (CFD) using Refase™, we are inviting you to participate in a panel discussion. Discussing how this works and how it can be easily implemented in more detail.

How do you maintain discrete control – at acceptable cost – of complex power systems when sections are underground or under water?

How can the visibility and control of individual cable sections be improved without incurring the significant capital cost of civil works, telecommunications, and power supplies? Is the fault overhead or underground? Which cable contains the fault if there are many connected in the same system? Should the breaker reclose, and how should a fault be treated and acted upon?

From societal pressure to practical and operational considerations, there are many reasons why more and more operators are undergrounding conductors. However, the traditional way to instrument cable sections, using electrical or optical CTs, is too expensive to deploy remotely or at scale. These systems are complex to install because they require power, data networks and civil works, and they require skilled installation and maintenance.

Synaptec provides a solution that eliminates those costs and reaches further, making it more scalable, cost-effective, and reliable. In this webinar we will recap how a single Refase™ system is uniquely capable of instrumenting multiple cable sections over unmatched distances with our passive sensor arrays. No more civil works, telecoms, or power supplies, no vulnerability to environmental conditions, and no more complex installation.

Then we will discuss different aspects of installation, retrofit, integration with conventional and digital protection schemes. From this we hope you will learn how we provide discrete, robust, and scalable differential current monitoring over wide areas, with measurements maintaining consistent high accuracy over wide operating temperature ranges when compared to traditional electrical and optical technologies.

Register here to join our webinar.

10h00 New York | 15h00 London | 16h00 Paris | 16h00 Amsterdam | 17h00 Johannesburg | 20h30 New Delhi | 23h00 Singapore | 02h00 Melbourne